In 1974 a seventeen-year-old senior from Newton North High School near Boston, MA, was elected the new Explorers’ president in Washington, DC. It was a huge milestone for the BSA because the new National Explorers President was a girl named Mary Wright.

The Explorers had become coed in April 1971 and by 1974 numbered about 500,000 nationwide, with about 150,000 girls and women between the ages of 14 and 20. Annual coed Explorer conferences were held, and coed backpacking treks were allowed at Philmont Scout Ranch, beginning in 1972. The same summer, the first two female Rangers [Kathy Leach and Nancy Wells] were hired for the Philmont staff.

Coed Explorers Post from Houston, Texas enjoying pole climbing at Pueblano Camp, Philmont Scout Ranch, in June 1972.
Partially visible in the background is Ranger Kathy Leach.
National coed conference for Explorers held at Philmont Scout Ranch in June 1973.

Mary Wright’s Story

Fifty years ago, at age 17, I became an icon.  Standing in a spotlight on the stage of a Sheraton ballroom, in front 2,000 applauding, cheering teenagers, adult leaders, and my father, I became the first female National Explorer President.  I was not in any way prepared for the resulting firestorm of activity from this milestone. 

Staff from the national office immediately began to direct me on my role; however, it was clear that they had not really thought of what to do if a girl was elected.  Did I need my hair done, did I need make-up, where would the E logo go on my formal dress?  I had just a short time to prepare a speech to the attendees where I promised to do my best for them, and then declared that I would not be attending college in the fall but rather take a year to devote my time and energy to the Exploring program.  Nothing like making a major decision on the fly. 

The BSA public relations apparatus flew into high gear. Promotional photos were taken. Interviews with major news outlets were scheduled. Pictures with and proclamations from government officials were arranged. All exclaiming the wonder of a girl being a national officer of a boy’s organization.  I was a first. 

Being National Explorer President was a fabulous experience.  I traveled the country, participated in multiple national and local events, narrated Exploring’s audio-visual material, met President Ford and gave him his Silver Beaver [April 9, 1975], participated in a wilderness training school in Africa, visited Philmont and made many life-long friends.

Exploring believed in the power and potential of Explorers – young people can be leaders and manage a program that will benefit them if given adult guidance and the resources to be successful.  My cabinet and I were given the training and support to travel the country and demonstrate the value of young people creating a program that worked for us. 

I’ve compared our advisors and the BSA and Exploring national staff to other managers/mentors/supporters I’ve had over my lifetime, and they still outshine most of them.  They brought us into the planning of programs, listened and responded to our recommendations, gave us critical and useful feedback and let us take responsibility for our roles.  Who could ask for more?

Did this experience influence the rest of life and professional career – of course it did.  My longest and dearest friends come from my Exploring days.  It is a constant source of amazement to my children that I met both President Ford and Carter.  My parents always reminded me of how proud they were of my election. 

Professionally, because of my experience being one of only a few females in the room as an Explorer, being one of only a few females in the work setting hasn’t been a challenge.  If I was the only woman in the room, I figured I’d be remembered particularly if I uttered a coherent sentence. 

As a manager, I remembered how important it was to be given responsibility for assignments and be guided rather than be told how to complete the task at hand.  Later in my career, I entered the world of workforce development and saw how valuable the original concept of the Exploring program is for creating the employees of tomorrow. 

There were so many individuals and companies I met and worked with who donated their time and resources to making Exploring possible for me, other national officers and Explorers.  I hope they can see what a difference their efforts made in building a generation of folks who have been successful in life, career and community service because of the experience they made possible. 


Mary gives credit to her parents for her strong sense of independence. She recalls that her “local BSA council had been so involved with Exploring in the early 70s, with so many folks around who had attended the Explorers Congress and understood what it meant.  However, most importantly, Beth Caruso, from our Norumbega Council, was the First Vice President the year I ran [1973-1974].  I had been actively involved in her campaign and was chair of our council’s EPA after her.  Our Exploring Exec saw no reason not to have me run too.  I saw what an opportunity it was for Beth and so readily agreed to be our candidate. ”

On April 9, 1975, President Ford received the Silver Buffalo Award from Mary Wright, the outgoing National Explorers President, at the South Lawn of the White House

Update: Mary received a Master of Business Administration in public/nonprofit management from Columbia University and a Bachelor of Arts in Urban Affairs from Connecticut College.

Here’s what Aaron on Scouting had to say about Mary’s very special 50th anniversary April 2024 – with some great photos of Mary.


Another early Explorer active at the National level was Donna Dodaro (now Donna Kemper). Donna says, “Those were the days – when Exploring was growing and the youth leadership, males and females, were a powerhouse of drive and action! If it wasn’t for Exploring, I can’t image where would my life be.”

As an elected Exploring youth leader on the regional and national level at the tail end of the 70s, she has great memories of how to run a campaign for your favorite candidate, create national platforms for the upcoming year and speak in front of 2,000+ youth and adults. 

Donna’s first national conference was 1980-81 in Phoenix. She worked with Kevin Sabo [First Vice President for the North Central Region] in 1981-82 on the National Platform committee, serving as the East Central Region representative. In the following year she attended the Philly conference. 

In 1982, the idea of clusters started. Donna ran for National Outdoor Youth chair and won! Her job was to organize the outdoor section of the 1983 National Explorers Conference.  

Philmont Ranger Donna Dodaro, Summer 1982

Donna attended Philmont in 1978 as part of her Council’s Explorer contingent and then was hired for the Ranger Department at Philmont Scout Ranch in 1982-83. She was offered a Training Ranger role for 1984 but the timing did not coincide with the 1984 National Exploring Conference at Ohio State.

Donna’s current work as a Senior District Executive in the Northwest allows her the opportunity to witness the one big fellowship of Scouting, all on the same path to grow mentally, and physically, while enjoying the outdoors, with the newest female Scouts BSA, Venturers and Sea Scouts being inspired along with the boys.


After 50 years girls still face an “epidemic of living on the sidelines”, thinking we are not good enough, not strong enough, wanting to marry a firefighter instead of being a firefighter. It is important for young girls to find a place that cultivates an independent spirit, that encourages them to follow any dream they may have. Scouting continues to be that kind of place.

Newspapers

The Boston Globe, Boston, Massachusetts, Monday, April 8, 1974, page 3.

The News-Virginian, Waynesboro, Virginia, Thursday, April 10, 1975, page 10.

The Evening Sun, Baltimore, Maryland, Thursday, April 10, 1975, page 2.

Photo Credits

Philmont Women Rangers Photo Archives

Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library and Museum, Ann Arbor, Michigan

One response to “Mary Wright, the First Female National President for Explorers Fifty Years Ago”

  1. […] Check out the entire story in this post on the Women and Girls in Scouting blog. […]

    Like

Leave a comment

Trending